Perspective

Prompt:
To be written in the perspective of-
1. You invite the girl you’re in love with over to dinner and plan to ask her out. You arrange many surprises for her. As you gather the courage to ask her out, you see her making out with another man.
2. You’re the girl, you see the boy walking away dejected.

 

Perspective 1

“Red or White?” the florist asked.

“White, I’d like it to match her gown.” I said.

“You really know how to micro manage stuff”

“You think she’ll say yes?” I asked.

“You kidding? After all that you’ve done? Only a fool would turn you down!”

 

I thanked him and left. I really needed that. For the past two weeks, the only thing I could ever think about was her. Jean, Jean Morgan, the most beautiful girl I’ve ever seen. Oh! Don’t get me wrong, I’m not one of those hopeless cheesy romantics. If anything, I used to flinch at the very word of love. Except when it was followed by the word “make”. I wasn’t always like this you know. I remember the first time I fell in love, that immature, foolish teenager drooling and blue over the nerd he used to like in school. Took him a while before he asked her out, dated her for over a year and a month, only to realize later that she had been cheating on him for the past eight months. Cigarettes, alcohol,drugs you know the deal after that. That phase when you “hate girls”, “hate love” and of course, “love is for pussies”.

So now, when I say that this same guy just finished booking a reservation for two at the sea view restaurant she always admired, hired her favourite cello artist to play for her, arranged for fireworks from a yacht on the sea, where he plans to take her to after the show, you know this girl has really cast her spell of love on him. I hold some really heavy baggage. I’ve done a lot of things I regret, and had a lot of things done to me others regret. Most people would do the wise thing and stay away from me, and I don’t blame them. I probably would’ve done the same. But somehow, all these stones that life threw at me, if it all was for Jean, then its all worth it. I don’t mind going through a hundred more just for her. She makes me happy, and I know that I can always keep her happy. That is all that matters to me now. I hired a Limo to pick her up. I reach her home, this is it, this is the beginning of the happiest days of my life to come.

I have a few last minute chills, what if she backs out? What if she has the flu? What if it starts to rain? What if I piss my pants? Took me a while to overcome these thoughts.

“Jean?”

I knocked on her door, no response, weird, only an hour back she had told me she was getting ready. I waited for a while, until I got restless and peeped through her living room window.  There she was, with another man, eyes filled with lust and pleasure as he kisses her neck. She was sweating. She had been at it for a while now. Her head turned towards me, our eyes met, she saw me looking at her, she didn’t seem surprised, just kept staring right back at me, like she knew this was going to happen all along. I took the one final hint, and I ran back to the car. I opened the bottle of wine I bought for her, drank it till the last drop. Its funny how the wine now serves a completely different purpose. Everything is funnier, everything is ironic when you’re drunk.  I drove at a hundred miles an hour, before I reached the bridge over the Hudson river.

“Dear Jean, 
I’m sorry I wasn’t right enough for you, you showed me my place and league in the most perfect but condescending way possible. I should have known better when I hopelessly found you beautiful while you were making out with that man. I just hope he keeps you happy . But you know what Jean? Whatever little time we shared together, I hope to cherish that for the next five, no, maybe four minutes of my life. Just remember, I maybe dying now but at least I’m dying a changed man. I’m a better person now Jean. And you’re the reason why. I’m not a coward Jean, so you never loved me, big deal! I must just learn to pick myself up and start over, find someone new and move on. But its just that, I don’t want to. Boy am I drunk! I’m sorry Jean, I will always love you. Be happy, you deserve it! This is one high bridge, I love you Jean, I lov                    “

 

Perspective 2

 

“Oh boy! Oh boy! Oh boy! ”

I couldn’t hold in my excitement. Today is the day. He’s definitely going to ask me out. I just know it!

“You should look at yourself now Jean! You’re blushing so much you’re already pink. I don’t really think you need makeup.” Rachel said.

“Are you out of your mind? I’m not willing to compromise on anything. You think I would risk putting on makeup myself in this state? I’m just so excited I might pee. Plus what are you here for? Oh boy! Oh boy! Oh boy!”

Rachel is a sweetheart. She agreed to call her babysitter just so she could dress me up. I was trying hard to remain courteous but what the hell! Robin is going to ask me out tonight! Rachel will understand, I’m in love after all. Plus, I figured it’ll be a nice change for Rachel from her day to day fights with her recently divorced ex husband. Being a single mom and all.

“There! You’re all done and gorgeous. I’ll have to leave now, my bastard of an ex husband might be here any moment with those final divorce papers.” She said.

I got up and hugged her tight. She’s been through so much, and yet she chooses to cherish every little beautiful moment, be it her life or mine. Maybe that’s why I love her so much, she reminds me of Robin.

“He will ask me out right?”

“You kidding? After all you’ve done? Only a fool would turn you down!” She said. I felt so much better, I really needed that.

I bid her goodbye and sat down carefully on the couch, I don’t want to ruin this dress Robin bought for me. Robin reminds me of a puppy. Call me cheesy, but you know how a puppy looks? Like they’re so adorable you just might die? If there is any place a girl wishes for him to be it would be either in her heart or in her pants. Although most of the time he’d prefer pants, but that was until he met me. I never really liked him before, I thought he was just another one of those players, and then I got to know him, and then I fell in love. But I was so doubtful I never really realized I had fallen for him until now, I never told him how I felt, hoping and praying that he’d understand. Either way, this wouldn’t matter in the next hour or two, regardless of whether he asks me out or not, I’ve decided to tell him how I feel, and probably, If my “shy” permits, I’d ask him out.
Just then, I heard the doorbell ring. This is it! This is the beginning of the happiest days of my life to come. I run and open the door.

“Robin! I’m in love with…..” I froze. It wasn’t Robin, it was Archie, Rachel’s ex husband, with a bottle of rum in his hand.

“Where is she?” He yelled.

“Where is who? Archie are you drunk?” He was clearly a little more than drunk. Dumb question.

“Where is that slut who took all my money? She’s not home with that bastard child of hers, I pay child support for that shit! Where is she? She has to be here!”

“Archie, leave now or I’m calling the police.” I said. He was offended, I was usually very kind to him, he looked at me in disbelief. I saw his expression quickly change to rage.

“Call the police will you bitch?!”

He flung the bottle of rum and hit the back of my head. It hit me hard, I could initially feel excruciating pain just above the back of my neck. I fell down on the couch by the living room wall, and almost immediately, I couldn’t feel anything. My entire body felt numb, I was breathing hard, unable to speak, unable to cry for help. Archie  immediately regretted what he’d done, clenched his hair and sat down on the chair next to the minibar. His eyes fell on the bottle of wine I’d got for Robin, the assault had sobered him a little, until he decided to drink again and compensate. Its funny how the wine now serves a completely different purpose. He stared at me while I lay there, motionless. One side of my blouse had come off my shoulder, and just when I dreaded the worst, he advanced towards me, clenched my hands against the wall, and began kissing my neck. I started to cry, I couldn’t feel the tears on my face, I couldn’t feel his touch, but it hurt me just as much. I felt him getting rougher, his most painful bites were a faint pinch to me. My eyes were blurry, I could see myself sweat, as he stripped my top.

“Jean?” I could hear a faint voice. Archie was way too drunk to hear anything that faint.

Robin! That’s Robin’s voice!
I tried hard to respond, the only thing that changed was the pace of my breath. Nothing else seems to happen. I need to look the other way, I really need to. I cant turn my head.

God, although late, heard my one final cry for help. Archie decided kiss the other side of my neck, and moved my head. And there he stood, the light of my life, the man of my dreams, my love. I just wish I could respond, somehow, anyhow. He looked at me with those big beautiful eyes, one last time, before he walked away. I wish I had told him how much I love him. I wish I hadn’t waited until he asked me out. I wish he knew how I felt about him. At least then, he wouldn’t have had the wrong idea he has now. Maybe he would’ve come to rescue me too! Like a Knight in Shining Armour! I’m sorry Robin! I was a coward. I wish I had told you earlier how I felt about you, I wish I wasn’t in denial. I wish I never thought I wasn’t in love with you. I love you so much Robin, I lov

 

 

-Kiddo

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Perspective

Leave a comment